The Piedmont Highlander

The Student News Site of Piedmont High School

The Piedmont Highlander

The Piedmont Highlander

April Crossword Key
April 19, 2024
APT outside of Piedmont Park
Staff Reductions
April 18, 2024

PHS announces 2013 National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Students

National Merit Scholarship semifinalists and commended students.
TOP: (from left) Dan Meade, Tim Campbell, Matt Leong, Scott Arthur, Stephen Kelly, Will Corvin, Jack Hamner
MIDDLE: Ailey Simpson, Lena Crown, Eric Lee, Mark Bublitz, Jamey Hollis, Austin Bisharat, Mika Matsuno
BOTTOM: Hannah Watry, Jack Moe, Claire Kingston, Sarah Reed-Guy, Natalie Kucirek, Lizzy Kelleher, Cortney Padua
NOT PICTURED: Emily Bang, Luke Johnson, Aristotle Magganas, Kate Pfeiffer, Ryan Sullivan, Cooper Wetherbee, Hannah Weverka

[one_half last=”no”]

NMS Semifinalists

Approximately 16,000 students nationwide qualify each year as Semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship Program. These students achieved the highest scores in their state on the PSAT. Most Semifinalists advance to Finalist standing, becoming eligible for Merit Scholarship awards.

Five PHS seniors have achieved Semifinalist standing:

  • Stephen Kelly
  • Eric Lee
  • Matt Leong
  • Sarah Reed-Guy
  • Cooper Wetherbee


[one_half last=”yes”]

NMS Commended Students

About 34,000 other students receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.

24 PHS seniors have been named Commended Students:

  • Scott Arthur
  • Emily Bang
  • Tim Campbell
  • Mark Bublitz
  • Austin Bisharat
  • Sam Colburn
  • Will Corvin
  • Lena Crown
  • Jack Hamner
  • Jamey Hollis
  • Luke Johnson
  • Lizzy Kelleher
  • Claire Kingston
  • Natalie Kucirek
  • Aristotle Magganas
  • Mika Matsuno
  • Dan Meade
  • Jack Moe
  • Cortney Padua
  • Kate Pfeiffer
  • Ailey Simpson
  • Ryan Sullivan
  • Hannah Watry
  • Hannah Weverka


Leave a Comment
Donate to The Piedmont Highlander

Your donation will support the student journalists of Piedmont High School. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Piedmont Highlander

Comments (0)

All The Piedmont Highlander Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *